What Does Dok Stand For In Education?

How do you use Dok in the classroom?

Use low level questions (DOK 1/2) from the first day of class in order to get students comfortable speaking and answering questions in class. Always encourage students to ask questions as well; these can always be used to start dialogue. Call on students how you feel most comfortable.

What are Dok levels?

The DOK level should reflect the complexity of cognitive processes demanded by the learning or assessment objective and task, rather than its difficulty. Ultimately, the DOK level describes the depth of understanding required by a task, not whether or not the task is considered “difficult.”

What is the purpose of Dok?

One useful tool, Norman Webb’s Depth of Knowledge Levels, can help teachers meet that challenge. Depth of Knowledge (DoK) categorizes tasks according to the complexity of thinking required to successfully complete them.

What are Dok questions?

Depth of Knowledge (DOK) is a scale used to determine the amount of thinking required for a given question or task. Aligning your questions to different DOK levels facilitates higher-order thinking and deeper learning for your students.

You might be interested:  Question: What Is Basic Education?

What is Dok in a lesson plan?

Depth of Knowledge (DoK) is arguably the most thorough with its four concise levels, each supported by a collection of words that contribute to delivering content at that level.

What are the four levels of Webb’s depth of knowledge?

Webb’s Depth of Knowledge (DoK)

  • Level 1 (Acquired knowledge) involves recall and reproduction. Remembering facts or defining a procedure.
  • Level 2 (Knowledge Application) are skills and concepts.
  • Level 3 (Analysis) involves strategic thinking.
  • Level 4 (Augmentation) is extended thinking.

What is a Dok 3 question?

Level 3 tasks typically require reasoning, complexity, developing a plan or sequence of steps, and have more than one possible response or solution. Extended thinking. DOK Level 4 requires complex reasoning and time to research, plan, and problem solve, and think.

What does Dok mean in slang?

DOK — Depth of Knowledge.

What is a Dok 4 question?

DOK 4 would most likely be the writing of a research paper or applying information from one text to another text to develop a persuasive argument. • DOK 4 requires time for extended thinking.

What are the 4 levels of knowledge?

Four Types of Knowledge 1

  • Dualism-Received Knowledge. (knowledge as objective facts) View of Knowledge:
  • Multiplicity-Subjective Knowledge. (knowledge based in subjective experience)
  • Relativism-Procedural Knowledge. (knowledge as disciplinary, methodological)
  • Commitment In Relativism- Constructed Knowledge.

What is the highest level of knowledge?

Creativity is the highest level of knowledge. A person who can create new knowledge is competent with existing knowledge on a topic, and can create new knowledge that extends upon what they already know.

What are the levels of learning?

The Six “Levels” of Learning

  • Level 1 – REMEMBER. Learners are able to recall a wide range of previously learned material from specific facts to complete theories.
  • Level 2 – UNDERSTAND.
  • Level 3 – APPLY.
  • Level 4 – ANALYZE (critical thinking).
  • Level 5 – EVALUATE (critical thinking).
  • Level 6 – CREATE (critical thinking).
You might be interested:  What Is A Doctorate In Education?

What is a higher order thinking question?

Higher-order questions are those that the students cannot answer just by simple recollection or by reading the information “verbatim” from the text. Higher-order questions put advanced cognitive demand on students. They encourage students to think beyond literal questions.

What is Dok in math?

Four Depth of Knowledge (DOK) levels were developed by Norman Webb as an alignment method to examine the. consistency between the cognitive demands of standards and the cognitive demands of assessments. Depth of Knowledge (DOK) Levels for Mathematics.

What is the Dok wheel?

In fact, out of all the taxonomies that categorize higher order thinking, the DOK Wheel is most aligned to the SOLO Taxonomy and its four quadrants. This should be called the HOT Wheel or even the SOLO Wheel and could be used to plan and provide instruction that marks and measures higher order thinking.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *